What is the four stages Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) of ISO 45001? Why is it important to understand and implement it?

The four-stage Plan-D0-Check-Act (PDCA) is a four-step process that is a continuous practice undertaken for the improvement of the organisation.  This is a systematic approach towards finding workable solutions, result assessment and implementing the required changes which were found during the assessment.

Plan: plan the objectives of OH&S and processes after understanding organisational goals which include OH&S risk and opportunities.

Do: implement the processes as planned to include worker participation, hazard identification and emergency preparedness

Check: monitor, measure and evaluate OH&S activities and processes

Act: take actions by including findings of incidents, addressing non-conformance and audit findings



Exercise: Please work out PDCA for the following scenarios:

Scenario 1:

You are a local distributor of PV cells. The total number of employees in the organisation is 50. What would be your PDCA to ensure the efficient and safe distribution of the PV cells to your clients?

Please create your PDCA cycle for Scenario 1

Scenario 2:

You are a manufacturer of the components of PV panels. The total number of employees in the organisation is 300. How would you plan your PDCA for the production process of the components?

Please create your PDCA cycle for Scenario 2


The post ID for this chapter is 2844. For any suggestion or comment regarding the content, you may write to us at faqs[dot]solar[at]gmail[dot]com. Please quote the post ID in the subject, for better assistance.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.